is powered by readers. When you purchase items from links on our website, we may earn a commission. Learn more


Liturgical Calendar Explained for Newcomers

Sharing is caring!


In the tapestry of Christian worship, the liturgical calendar serves as a vibrant thread weaving through time, guiding believers on a cyclical journey of faith.

Like nature’s seasons, which bring varied landscapes and evoke different emotions, the liturgical calendar offers distinct spiritual seasons, each with its own mood, significance, and theme.

Even if you’ve heard terms like “Lent” or “Advent” before, understanding the entirety of this calendar can deepen one’s appreciation for Christian traditions. Here’s a breakdown of the liturgical calendar and the significance of its seasons.

1. Advent:

This season serves as the gateway to the Christian liturgical year. It’s a period of expectant waiting, marked by hope and anticipation, as believers prepare to celebrate the birth of Christ and also look forward to his second coming.

2. Christmas:

Following Advent, Christmas is a season of joy, celebrating the birth of Jesus. It’s not just a day, but a season that extends for twelve days, culminating in the Epiphany.

3. Epiphany:

Epiphany focuses on revelations of Christ’s divinity. It’s a season that emphasizes the manifestation of Jesus as the light of the world and celebrates events that revealed his mission and divinity to humanity.

4. Ordinary Time:

Interwoven between the other seasons are periods known as “Ordinary Time.” Contrary to what the name might suggest, it’s not about the “mundane,” but rather is derived from “ordinal numbers” (first, second, third, etc.).

These are times of spiritual growth and cultivation, where believers delve into the teachings of Christ.

5. Lent:

Lent is a solemn 40-day season marked by introspection, penance, and fasting. It’s a time for believers to reflect on Jesus’s sacrifices, culminating in his crucifixion.

This season prepares the faithful for the sorrow of Good Friday and the joy of Easter.

6. Easter:

The pinnacle of the Christian calendar, Easter celebrates the resurrection of Jesus from the dead. It’s the most joyous season, marked by jubilation and hope. Easter isn’t just a day but a season, extending for fifty days until Pentecost.

7. Pentecost:

Pentecost concludes the Easter season and commemorates the descent of the Holy Spirit upon the apostles. It’s a celebration of the birth of the Church and the empowerment of its members by the Spirit.


The liturgical calendar, in its cyclical rhythm, mirrors the ebbs and flows of human life — moments of joy, periods of waiting, times of reflection, and intervals of growth.

It serves as a spiritual compass, continually orienting believers towards pivotal events in Christian theology.

Engaging with the calendar doesn’t just offer a structured way to journey through the Christian story; it invites believers to align their inner spiritual rhythms with the unfolding narrative of redemption and hope.

Whether you’re deeply immersed in these traditions or just beginning to explore, the liturgical calendar offers a rich, structured, and enlightening path through the Christian year.

Posts related to Liturgical Calendar Explained: